Ophthalmologist Gladys Atto Named ‘Doctor of the Year’ at 2023 Heroes in Health Awards

Dr Glayds Atto won Doctor of the Year Award
Ophthalmologist Gladys Atto won 'Doctor of the Year' award
- Advertisement -

In a heartfelt recognition of her exceptional contributions to eye care, Dr. Gladys Atto, an ophthalmologist at Moroto Regional Referral Hospital, emerged as the ‘Doctor of the Year’ at the 2023 Heroes in Health Awards. The prestigious award ceremony, held on November 10 at the Commonwealth Resort Munyonyo, sought to honor individuals and entities transforming Uganda’s health sector.

Dr. Atto, dedicated to restoring the sight of her patients, expressed gratitude for the acknowledgment. “This award also goes out to all my beloved patients who put their trust in me to handle their eyes and to all the senior ophthalmologists who taught me the art of eye surgery,” she remarked.

The Heroes in Health Awards, now in its 4th edition, were presided over by Deputy Speaker of Parliament Thomas Tayebwa. Apart from Dr. Atto, several other healthcare professionals and entities were recognized for their outstanding contributions.

Other Notable Winners:

  • Moses Kamabare: National Medical Stores (NMS) General Manager Moses Kamabare received the Minister’s Special Award for his transformative initiatives in digitizing Uganda’s drug supply chain. Under Kamabare’s leadership since 2008, NMS has successfully implemented online ordering for essential medicines and health supplies, ensuring timely distribution, even during outbreaks of diseases like Ebola and COVID-19.
  • Dr. Henry G. Mwebesa: Director General of Health Services at the Ministry of Health, Dr. Henry G. Mwebesa, was honored for his exceptional contribution to the continuous improvement of health service delivery.
  • Uganda Red Cross Society: The Uganda Red Cross Society received the prestigious Heroes in Health Award in the Logistics Category, recognizing their impactful efforts in the healthcare sector.
  • Celina Bako: Midwife Celina Bako from Maracha-West Nile was awarded the ‘Midwife of The Year’ for her commendable service.
  • Deogratias Delafrique: Mbarara University of Science and Technology student Deogratias Delafrique received recognition for spearheading efforts to transform healthcare by adopting herbal and complementary medicines. Delafrique is working on a VEP antiseptic herbal wound spray, derived from locally sourced medicinal plants, aiming to provide effective, safe, and affordable options for wound healing.

In her statement, Minister of Health Jane Ruth Aceng emphasized the government’s commitment to elevating the healthcare system and cultivating a resilient health workforce. Deputy Speaker Thomas Tayebwa affirmed parliament’s support for the ministry and the Heroes in Health Awards, acknowledging the challenges health workers face and underscoring the need for continued support and collaboration in the health sector.

- Advertisement -

- Advertisement -
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments