Diplomatic Preparations in Full Swing as Uganda Plans to Host NAM and G77 Summits

diplomatic preparations in full swing as uganda plans to host nam and g77 summits
- Advertisement -

The Ugandan government is making comprehensive preparations to host the 19th Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) Summit in 2024 and the Group of 77 (G77) Summit meetings. These significant diplomatic events are scheduled to take place at Speke Resort Munyonyo in 2024. In anticipation of these summits, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs has initiated the training of Liaison and Protocol Officers to ensure that they are well-prepared for their crucial roles.

The training, which spans three days, was inaugurated in Kampala on November 2, 2023. During this event, the Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Vicent Bagiire, emphasized the importance of this induction program. Its primary objective is to bring the officers up to speed on Uganda’s readiness to host the two prominent summits.

Uganda’s involvement with the Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) dates back to its admission in 1964 during the 2nd Summit of Heads of State and Government, which was held in Cairo, Egypt. In 2024, Uganda is set to take on the Chairmanship of NAM, a position it will hold until 2027. This leadership role underscores the country’s growing diplomatic prominence within the international community.

The Group of 77, often referred to as the G77, represents the largest intergovernmental organization of developing nations within the United Nations. This group plays a crucial role in enabling Southern countries to voice and advocate for their collective economic interests and strengthen their combined negotiating power concerning major international economic matters within the United Nations system. Additionally, the G77 promotes South-South cooperation for development, fostering collaboration among developing nations.

The G77 was initially established on June 15, 1964, comprising 77 developing countries that were signatories of the “Joint Declaration of the Seventy-Seven Developing Countries.” This declaration was issued at the conclusion of the first session of the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD) in Geneva. Over time, the G77 has expanded its membership to include 134 countries, with China being one of the recent additions.

- Advertisement -

These member countries encompass a wide range of nations, including Afghanistan, Algeria, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Botswana, Brazil, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, China, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, Costa Rica, Côte d’Ivoire, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, DR Congo, and Djibouti, among others. This diversity underscores the G77’s significance in representing the interests of a broad coalition of developing countries on the international stage.

- Advertisement -
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments