EC Chairman Pledges Fair 2026 Elections

ec chairman pledges fair 2026 elections
- Advertisement -

Simon Byabakama, a Justice from the Court of Appeal, has promised impartial and transparent elections for 2026. This commitment comes as Chief Justice Alfonse Owiny-Dollo emphasizes the need for the Electoral Commission (EC) to prepare thoroughly for the upcoming elections.

Owiny-Dollo stressed the importance of the EC engaging with various stakeholders to understand the challenges in the electoral process. He highlighted the significance of a level playing field in elections, stating that it could lead to a more accountable leadership.

During the swearing-in ceremony of Byabakama and six other commissioners, Owiny-Dollo also emphasized the need for voters to understand their roles in the electoral process.

The newly sworn-in commissioners include Aisha Lubega, Stephen Tashobya, Dr Sallie Simba Kayunga, Anthony Okello, Caroline Beinamaryo, and James Peter Emorut.

- Advertisement -

Owiny-Dollo commended the appointing authority for their trust in the EC leaders and urged them to carry out their duties without fear or favor.

Byabakama reiterated his commitment to conducting free and fair elections, stating that he and his team would serve the country in accordance with the law.

Minister of Justice and Constitutional Affairs, Nobert Mao, disclosed government plans to introduce electronic voting and the use of body cameras for presiding officers. He emphasized the importance of transparency and nonpartisanship in the EC’s decisions and actions.

- Advertisement -
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments