Masaza Cup Final: Gomba Aims for Record Sixth Title with Kabaka Mutebi as Chief Guest

masaza cup final gomba aims for record sixth title with kabaka mutebi as chief guest
- Advertisement -


  • Gomba vs. Bulemeezi: Masaza Cup Final Showdown with Kabaka Mutebi’s Presence
  • Gomba Chases History in the Finals
  • “Gomba’s Bid for Sixth Title Highlights Tournament’s Growing Popularity

The Masaza Cup, a prestigious soccer tournament in Uganda’s Buganda Kingdom, is set for its nineteenth edition, with the final match between Gomba and Bulemeezi promising excitement and anticipation among fans. This article explores the upcoming final, the consistent success of Gomba, the competition’s popularity, and the challenges faced by the tournament, including refereeing controversies.

In the picturesque setting of the Muteesa II stadium in Wankulukuku, the Masaza Cup final on October 28, 2023, is expected to draw a massive crowd, as fans gather to watch the thrilling clash between Gomba and two-time champions Bulemeezi. Adding to the grandeur, Kabaka Ronald Muwenda Mutebi will grace the event as the chief guest, further elevating the competition’s significance.

Gomba’s remarkable journey to the final demonstrates the consistent and effective management of the team. The team’s ability to attract top talent and raise necessary resources has played a pivotal role in their consistent performance over the years. Frank Ssekandi, a commentator on Masaza Cup matters, attributes Gomba’s dominance to this excellent management.

- Advertisement -

Gomba’s path to the final has been impressive, with victories against Singo and Buddu in the knockout stages. Their passion for the game and unwavering fan support have been instrumental in achieving more success than any other team in the competition.

The tournament’s popularity is not limited to Gomba alone, as fierce rivalries between teams like Gomba, Bulemeezi, and Buddu have driven the standard of the competition to new heights.

However, this quest for success has brought about negative consequences, with match-fixing allegations and refereeing controversies plaguing the tournament. Accusations of results being influenced through bribery have cast a shadow on the competition. Ssekandi believes that winning at any cost should not be the primary goal and emphasizes the importance of the tournament’s management conducting thorough investigations into these issues.

Sulaiman Ssejjengo, chairman of the Masaza Cup organizing committee, acknowledged the complaints but stressed the need for substantial evidence in such cases. He pointed out that sometimes referees make legitimate mistakes, which can lead to misunderstandings among fans regarding the rules of the game.

In a competition rich with history and tradition, the Masaza Cup remains a symbol of Buganda’s enduring soccer legacy, with Gomba chasing a record sixth title. While challenges persist, the tournament continues to captivate fans and preserve the spirit of football in the region.

A Decade of Triumph: The Masaza Cup Champions (2004-2022)

The Masaza Cup, an annual tournament held in the Buganda region of Uganda, has been a breeding ground for local football talent and a source of regional pride for nearly two decades. This article explores the history and past champions of the Masaza Cup from 2004 to 2022, highlighting the diverse range of winners and the evolution of football in the region.

Past Winners of Masaza Cup

Year Champion
2004 Gomba
2005 Mawokota
2006 Kooki
2007 Mawokota
2008 Kyadondo
2009 Gomba
2010 Not held
2011 Buluuli
2012 Bulemeezi
2013 Mawokota
2014 Gomba
2015 Singo
2016 Buddu
2017 Gomba
2018 Singo
2019 Bulemeezi
2020 Gomba
2021 Buddu
2022 Busiro


The Inaugural Year: Gomba’s Victory (2004)

In the debut season of the Masaza Cup in 2004, Gomba emerged as the inaugural champions, setting the tone for the years to come. This victory marked the beginning of a football legacy in the Buganda region.

The Reign of Mawokota (2005, 2007, and 2013)

Mawokota asserted their dominance with three championship wins in 2005, 2007, and 2013. The team showcased consistent performance and talent that made them a force to be reckoned with.

Kyadondo’s Triumph (2008)

In 2008, Kyadondo secured their place in the Masaza Cup history by claiming the championship. Their victory added diversity to the list of champions.

Buluuli’s Maiden Victory (2011)

Buluuli celebrated their first Masaza Cup victory in 2011, showcasing the competitive nature of the tournament and the emergence of new talent.

Bulemeezi’s Win (2012 and 2019)

Bulemeezi proved their mettle by winning the cup twice, in 2012 and 2019, underscoring their football prowess.

Singo’s Glory (2015 and 2018)

Singo left an indelible mark on the tournament, clinching the championship twice in 2015 and 2018. Their consistency and determination were key to their success.

Buddu’s Triumph (2016 and 2021)

Buddu showcased their skills by winning the cup in 2016 and again in 2021. These victories demonstrated their resilience and football excellence.

Busiro’s Inaugural Win (2022)

The most recent addition to the list of champions is Busiro, who clinched their first Masaza Cup victory in 2022. This win highlighted the ever-changing landscape of Buganda football.

Evolution of the Masaza Cup

The Masaza Cup has evolved over the years, reflecting the growth of football in the Buganda region. It has become a platform for nurturing young talents and promoting the rich football culture within the community. With new champions emerging and the competition becoming fiercer, the tournament continues to captivate football enthusiasts in Buganda.

- Advertisement -
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments