Tight Competition at Uganda Ladies Open as Kabasweka Maintains Lead

tight competition at uganda ladies open as kabasweka maintains lead
PHOTO - MTN Sports Portal
- Advertisement -

Uganda Ladies Open Day 2 Leaderboard (Top 5)

Golfer Day 1 Score Day 2 Score Total Score Par
Kabasweka A. Peace 68 75 143 -1
Madina Iddy Hussein 73 74 147 +3
Meron Kyomugisha 76 74 150 +6
Awour Ashley 74 76 150 +6
Martha Babirye 81 73 154 +10


In the Uganda Ladies Open golf tournament, Peace Amooti Kabasweka of Uganda, who led by five strokes after the first day, now finds herself seven shots off her initial score. Despite this setback, she maintains her position at the top heading into the final day on Saturday.

Kabasweka posted a 3-over-par score of 75 on the second day, making her the favorite to clinch her first Uganda Open title, even as Tanzania’s Iddi Madina Hussein poses a formidable challenge. Kabasweka had benefited from rainy conditions on the first day, and she would hope for similar weather to fend off Hussein’s pursuit.

- Advertisement -

The day’s best score of 73 came from three-time winner Martha Babirye, but she lags behind with a total gross score of 154, putting her 10 strokes behind the leader. The tournament has drawn female golfers from Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi, Malawi, Sweden, and China.

Meron Kyomugisha and Kenya’s Ashley Awour are tied for the third position with a total gross score of 150. Eva Magala secures the fifth spot with a score of 152, while Kenya’s Mercy Nyanchama stands at sixth place with 153.

The Uganda Ladies Open is proudly sponsored by Uganda Breweries Limited, represented by their brand Johnnie Walker. Other sponsors include Absa Bank Uganda, Case Medical Services, HK Properties, Medisell, Pinnacle Security Limited, NBS Sports, and Royal and Ancient Crown Beverages Limited.

Previous Winners Since 2011:

  • 2022: Martha Babirye (Uganda)
  • 2021: Irene Nakalembe (Uganda)
  • 2020: Martha Babirye (Uganda)
  • 2019: Martha Babirye (Uganda)
  • 2018: Neema Olomi (Tanzania)
  • 2017: Angel Eaton (Tanzania)
  • 2016: Flavia Namakula (Uganda)
  • 2015: Flavia Namakula (Uganda)
  • 2014: Flavia Namakula (Uganda)
  • 2013: Angel Eaton (Tanzania)
  • 2012: Angel Eaton (Tanzania)
  • 2011: Flavia Namakula (Uganda)

- Advertisement -
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments