Government Phases Out 22 Teacher Training Colleges – Full List Public

Uganda's Education Ministry Initiates Changes in 22 Teacher Training Colleges
Uganda's Education Ministry Initiates Changes in 22 Teacher Training Colleges
- Advertisement -

Kampala, Uganda – In a recent announcement, Education Minister Janet Museveni disclosed that the government has decided to phase out 22 Primary Teacher Training Colleges (PTCs) that are not considered core institutions for teacher education. This decision came after consultations with various stakeholders associated with these PTCs.

The affected PTCs will undergo a transformation to serve different purposes. One of them will be repurposed into a senior secondary school, while five will become health training institutions. Additionally, six will operate as satellite campuses for various public universities, three will function as Technical and Vocational Education and Training (TVET) skills training institutions, one will become a TVET Agro-Vet institution, two will serve as health tutors’ training institutions, and four will be instructor training institutions.

Education Minister Janet Museveni emphasized that the operationalization of these restructured institutions is contingent upon the availability of financial resources. She assured students who are concerned about the closure of their alma mater that alternative arrangements will be made for those who wish to retake their examinations. These students can enroll in the remaining 23 core Primary Teacher Training Colleges.

Furthermore, the First Lady urged the technical team at the Ministry of Education to ensure that the ongoing reforms under the National Teacher Policy 2019 do not adversely affect continuing students in teacher training institutions. She emphasized the need for collaboration between the ministry and Kyambogo University to prevent any disruptions caused by government reforms.

In addition to these changes, the Education Ministry has requested Kyambogo University to collaborate closely with key stakeholders to facilitate the swift adoption of the National Teacher Policy 2019.

- Advertisement -

List of Phased Out Institutions:

Name of the PTC Location Repurposed Option
Jinja PTC Jinja Senior Secondary School
Kotido PTC Kotido Campus of Gulu University
Erepi PTC Moyo Campus of Muni University
Paidha PTC Zombo Campus of Kyambogo University
Kabwangasi PTC Butebo Campus of Busitema University
Rukungiri PTC Rukungiri Campus of Kabale University
Canon Lawrence PTC Bomboro Lira City Campus of Lira University
Bundibugyo PTC Bundibugyo Health Training Institution
Kisoro PTC Kisoro Health Training Institution
Busikho PTC Busia Health Training Institution
Kapchorwa PTC Kapchorwa Health Training Institution
St Augustine PTC Butiti Kyenjojo Health Training Institution
Buhungiro PTC Isingiro TVET Skills Training Institution
Kiyoora PTC Ntungamo TVET Agro-Vet Institution
Rakai PTC Kyotera TVET Skills Training Institution
Kamurasi PTC Masindi TVET Skills Training Institution
Kabukunge PTC Kalungu Instructor Training Institution
Kaliro PTC Kaliro Instructor Training Institution
Bikungu PTC Mitooma Instructor Training Institution
Bwera PTC Kasese Instructor Training Institution
St Mary’s PTC Bukedea Bukedea Health Tutor’s Training Institution
Christ The King PTC Gulu Gulu City Health Tutor’s Training Institution
- Advertisement -
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments