North Kigezi Diocese in Major Clergy Reshuffle Under Bishop Asiimwe – LIST

Bishop Onesimus Asiimwe North Kigezi
- Advertisement -

Bishop Onesimus Asiimwe has initiated reforms within the diocesan clergy of North Kigezi Diocese, marking a major restructuring since his installation as the sixth Anglican Bishop in Uganda’s southwest. The announced changes came during a diocesan council meeting held at Emmanuel Cathedral, Kinyasano in Rukungiri district.

The diocesan secretary, Rev. Enock Karamuzi, has been relocated to Nyabitete as archdeacon. His successor is Rev. Canon Erick Beingana Mugyenzi, formerly the dean of Emmanuel Cathedral. Bishop Asiimwe emphasized that these alterations are routine changes that occur annually across churches, emphasizing their intention to promote the word of God without malice.

In the latest adjustments, Rev. Benson Akankwasa and Rev. Dickens Baguma have been promoted to the position of archdeacon and transferred to Buhunga and Nyakisoroza, respectively. Both Akankwasa and Baguma previously served as parish priests at Nyakaine Church of Uganda and Kitazigurukwa Church of Uganda, respectively.

Ven. Amatsiko Niwegariho, formerly at All Saints Church within Rujumbura Archdeaconry, has assumed the role of dean at Emmanuel Cathedral, succeeding Ven. Dickson Kakanyisa, the former archdeacon of Bwanga.

- Advertisement -

Ven. Capt. Jaron Atusinguza has been transferred from Nyabitete to Rubirizi Archdeaconry in Nyarushanje sub-county. Meanwhile, Rev. Lamech Muramuzi has been relocated from Besania Prayer Mountain to All Saints Church Nyakariro Church of Uganda in Bugangari sub-county.

Former diocesan treasurer, Rev. Collins Tugatungire, now serves as the chaplain of Kisizi Hospital. In another change, Rev. Ronald Natuhwera, the previous diocesan estates manager, has assumed the role of diocesan Father’s Union co-ordinator. He has been succeeded by Alex Mugabe, concurrently holding the position of the mayor of Kebison town council.

According to the statement seen by The Ankole Times, the 59th Council Meeting of staff transfers and postings in 2024 for North Kigezi Diocese took place at Emmanuel Cathedral Kinyasano, chaired by the Bishop of North Kigezi Diocese, Rt. Rev. Onesimus Asiimwe. Among other things, there were staff transfers and postings for 2024. Here is the list:

  1. Rev. David Owokwesiga from BBUC to Curate-Bugangari Parish
  2. Deacon Mugire Bonan from Curate Bugangari Parish to Masya Parish
  3. Rev. Chris Manigaruhanga from BBUC to Nyabitete SS
  4. Rev. Taremwa Emmanuel from BBUC to Rwabukoba SS
  5. Rev. Orishaba Allen from UCU to Bishop Ruhindi SS
  6. Rev. Boaz Murekyezi from All Saints Nyakariro Parish to Nyakaina Parish
  7. Rev. Ednah Arinaitwe from Curate Kasoroza Parish to Chaplain NKD HC/IV(Rugarama)
  8. Rev. Julius Nuwagaba from Rwenyangi Parish to Besania Prayer Mountain
  9. Rev. Hannington Taremwa from Chaplain Makobore H/S to Rwenyangi Parish
  10. Rev. Benson Amanya from Rukungiri Technical Institute to Chaplain Makobore H/S
  11. Rev. Apophia NshabaRuhanga from NKD H/C IV (Rugarama) to Rukungiri Technical Institute
  12. Rev. Rodgers Ntoreine from Kiyaga Parish to Mabanga Parish
  13. Rev. Gershom Muhumuza from Mabanga Parish to Kitazigurukwa Parish
  14. Rev. Francis Tugumenawe from Masya Parish to Karukaata Parish
  15. Rev. Justus Otafiire from Karukaata Parish to Nyarurambi Parish
  16. Rev. Mutabazi James from BSU Mbarara to Nanga Parish
  17. Rev. Joseph Tugume from Nanga Parish to Rusheeshe Parish
  18. Rev. Johnson Byekwatso from Rusheeshe to Burembo Parish
  19. Rev. Richard Katabazi from Burembo Parish to Bucence Parish
  20. Rev. Christopher Bakesiga from Rwenshama Parish to Early Retirement
  21. Rev. Alfred Katsigazi from Nyakagyeme Parish to Rwenshama Parish
  22. Rev. Bosco Banganzya from Katonya Parish to Kirimbe Parish
  23. Rev. Eliasaph Kamugisha from Kirimbe Parish to Katonya Parish
  24. Rev. James Twebaze from Kibaale Parish to Mutatuurwa Parish
  25. Rev. Enock Kamanyi from Mutatuurwa Parish to Kakomero Parish
  26. Rev. Patrick Tumwesigye from Kakomero Parish to Kibaale Parish
  27. Rev. Muntulive Nshaba Ruhanga from Nyarurambi Parish to CNBC Kyamakanda
  28. Rev. Lamech Muramuzi from Besania Prayer Mountain to All Saints Nyakariro
  29. Rev. Agnes Ainembabazi from Bishop Ruhindi SS to Kiyaga Parish
  30. Rev. Tugatungire Collin from Bishop’s Office(Diocesan Treasurer) to Chaplain Kisiizi Hospital.
  31. Rev. Ivan Matongo from CNBC Kyamakanda to Kabingo Parish
  32. Rev. Evas Arinaitwe from Curate Nyabiteete to Ass. Chaplain Kisiizi Hosp.
  33. Rev. Arthur Omara stays at Kyabugashe Parish and Chaplain Kyabugashe SS
  34. Rev. Ronald Natuhwera from Estates and Development office to Fathers’ Union Coordinator
  35. Mugabe Alex Nathan from Procurement Office to Estates and Development
  36. Rev. Caleb Karabamu from Rwabukoba Parish to Nyakagyeme Parish
  37. Rev. Kamuniini Johnson from Kabingo Parish to Rwabukoba Parish
  38. Rev. Medius Twinomujuni from Kyabagyerwa Parish to Bugarama Parish
  39. Rev. Bernard Mwesigwa from Bugarama Parish to Kyabagyerwa Parish
  40. Rev. Benson Akankwatsa from Kitazigurukwa Parish to Katurika/Buhunga Archdeaconry.
  41. Ven. James Tumusiime from Buhunga Archdaconry to Bwanga Archdeaconry
  42. Rev. Baguma Dickens from Nyakaina Parish to Nyakisoroza Archdeaconry
  43. Ven. Kakanyisa Dickson from Bwanga Parish/Arch to Rujumbura Arch
  44. Ven. Capt. Atusinguza Jallon from Nyabiteete Parish/Arch to Rubiriizi Arch
  45. Ven. Enock Karamuzi from Bishop’s Office(DS) to Nyabiteete Archdeaconry
  46. Ven. Amatisko Nuwegariho from All Saints/Rujumbura Arch to Emmanuel Cathedral Kinyasano(Dean)
  47. Rev. Can. Eric Baingana from Emmanuel Cathedral to Bishop’s Office(DS).

- Advertisement -
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments